GALERIE BERNARD BOUCHE

EXPOSITION PASSÉES

 

RUI CHAFES

Sans Voix

26 May - 8 July 2023

The gallery is pleased to present an exhibition of recent works by Rui Chafes from Friday 26 May.

His enigmatic and mysterious sculptures are almost always made of iron, painted black, with an uncommon coherence and rigour which, to paraphrase the artist, are shadows or negatives of a world that imprisons emptiness, silence in its most absolute form: cocoons, nests, insects, armour, masks or elements of clothing represent both a memory and a skin that protect and testify to an absent body. In essence, Chafes seeks to achieve immateriality and represent the invisible, defying the limits of iron and the imponderable.

Rui Chafes was born in Lisbon in 1966. Between 1990 and 1992, he studied with Gerhard Merz at the Kunstakademie Dusseldorf in Germany. During this stay, steeped in German culture, he translated Novalis' Fragments into Portuguese. He soon began an international career, representing Portugal at the Venice Biennale (in 1995 with José Pedro Croft and Pedro Cabrita Reis) and then at the São Paulo Biennale (in 2004, in a project with the dancer and choreographer Vera Mantero). Several of his sculptures are now in important public collections. In 2004 he received the Robert-Jacobsen Sculpture Prize from the Würth Foundation in Germany and in 2015 the Pessoa Prize in Portugal, and in 2021 the AICA Prize.  

In 2022, he had an exhibition with Pedro Costa and Paulo Nozolino at the Centre Pompidou and a major solo exhibition in 2022-2023 at the Serralves Foundation in Porto. A new exhibition "Alberto Giacometti - Rui Chafes" will take place from 18 May to 25 September 2023 at the Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon.

 
previous arrow
next arrow

©2022 All rights reserved Galerie Bernard Bouche
Legal mentionsPolitique de confidentialité

GALERIE BERNARD BOUCHE

EXPOSITION PASSÉES

 

RUI CHAFES

Sans Voix

26 mai- 8 juillet 2023.

La galerie a le plaisir de présenter à partir du vendredi 26 mai une exposition d’œuvres récentes de Rui Chafes.

Ses sculptures énigmatiques et mystérieuses sont presque toujours de fer, peintes en noir, avec une cohérence et une rigueur hors du commun qui, pour paraphraser l’artiste, sont des ombres ou négatifs d’un monde qui emprisonne le vide, le silence dans ce qu’il a de plus absolu : cocons, nids, insectes, armures, masques ou éléments de vêtement représentent à la fois une mémoire et une peau qui protègent et témoignent d’un corps absent. Au fond, Chafes cherche à atteindre l’immatérialité et à représenter l’invisible, en défiant les limites du fer et de l’impondérable.

Rui Chafes est né à Lisbonne en 1966. Entre 1990 et 1992, il étudie avec Gerhard Merz à la Kunstakademie Dusseldorf en Allemagne. Pendant ce séjour, imprégné de culture Allemande, il traduit en portugais les Fragments de Novalis. Il a très tôt débuté une carrière internationale, en représentant le Portugal à la Biennale de Venise (en 1995 avec José Pedro Croft et Pedro Cabrita Reis) puis à la Biennale de São Paulo (en 2004, dans un projet avec la danseuse et chorégraphe Vera Mantero). Plusieurs de ses sculptures se trouvent aujourd’hui dans d’importantes collections publiques. Il a reçu en 2004 le Prix de sculpture Robert-Jacobsen de la Fondation Würth en Allemagne et en 2015 le Prix Pessoa au Portugal, puis en 2021 le prix AICA.  

En 2022, il réalise une exposition avec Pedro Costa et Paulo Nozolino au Centre Pompidou et une importante exposition lui a été consacrée en 2022-2023 à la Fondation Serralves à Porto. Une nouvelle exposition « Alberto Giacometti – Rui Chafes » aura lieu à partir du mois de mai 2023 à la Fondation Gulbenkian à Lisbonne.

 
previous arrow
next arrow

©2022 All rights reserved Galerie Bernard Bouche
Mentions légalesPolitique de confidentialité